About us

The Geophysical Society of Oklahoma City (GSOC) was chartered as the sixth chapter of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) in October, 1952. This chapter was largely working geophysicists from Central and Western Oklahoma.  By 1970, the Society had grown to nearly one hundred and twenty members, and on June 4, 1971 the GSOC dedicated a granite monument, marking the site of the 1st reflection seismic survey conducted in the USA conducted fifty years earlier by a crew of scientists led by Dr. John C. Karcher.  This first seismic data was acquired approximately ½ mile west of Penn Square Mall in Oklahoma City.  The monument can be seen today in the front lawn of Belle Isle Library 

Today the society serves nearly two hundred members and is staffed by an annually elected Board of volunteers.  The GSOC holds monthly meetings from September-May as well as multiple special events throughout the year.  The Board makes a distinct effort to provide members with a series of relevant and beneficial technical seminars to further each member's continuing education in geophysics as well as provide a venue for members to expand and maintain their professional network.



GSOC Constitution and By-Laws

Birthplace of reflection seismology

Officers 2018 - 2019

President - Alex Biholar, Devon Energy

Past President - Jan Dodson, STAR Geophysics, Inc.

President Elect David Smolkin, Devon Energy

Vice President - Stephanie Cook, Chesapeake Energy

Secretary - Debashish Sarkar, Fern Geophysics

Treasurer - Mark Aisenberg, White Star

Webmaster - Rika Burr, Chesapeake Energy

Copyright Geophysical Society of Oklahoma City

Geophysical Society of Oklahoma City is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

P.O. Box 1032  Oklahoma City, OK 73101 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software